KCA Board Elections

It’s Time for KCA Board of Director elections!


The Kansas Cycling Association is organized as an affiliate of USA Cycling and supports bike racing in Kansas and the KCMO area. KCA is led by a 5-9 member Board of Directors that are elected by area clubs in “good standing”, which means clubs that have promoted a local USA Cycling sanctioned race within the past year.

Directors must hold a USAC license (rider, official, coach or mechanic); complete SafeSport training and reside in Kansas or a county bordering Kansas in Missouri. They serve a two-year term without term limits.

Once elected, the Board will appoint officers, which may include President, Equipment Coordinator, Media and Communications Coordinator, Race Calendar Coordinator, Junior Coordinator, Officials Coordinator, State Championship and Series Coordinator, Women’s Coordinator and Treasurer.

If you are interested in serving on the Board, please submit a brief statement of who you are, why you want to serve on the Board, and any specific role you would like to fill. The statements will be distributed to club presidents for voting/approval.



->January 1-15 Candidates submit their statements to Doug Campbell at dcampbell@kc.rr.com.

->January 16-22 Club presidents will vote on or approve Board candidates.

->Wednesday, January 24 First 2024 Board Meeting.



That’s All Folks

Thirty races.  When we say it like that, it doesn’t seem like that many.  But, each race day represents an incredible amount of work behind the scenes by dedicated people who, more often than not, lose money in the process.  Why would anyone do that? For the love of the sport – that’s why.

As we say goodbye to the 2023 season, let’s all give a word of thanks to our area’s race promoters, volunteers, USAC officials and sponsors for their dedication to our chosen sport.

Road season is just twelve weeks away…better get training!



Special Announcement – 2023 KCA Area Hall of Fame Inductees

****For immediate release****

Kansas Cycling Association Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Overland Park, Kansas — The Kansas Cycling Association Board of Directors, at their September 6th meeting, voted unanamiously to approve the 2023 KCA Area Hall of Fame candidates: Harold Dean Parker (Lenexa) and Bill Marshall (Olathe).


Harold “Dean” Parker (360 Racing/Vandoit) – Dean Parker has been racing for decades with multiple podiums and top step performances at the local and state level in Criterium, Road, TT and CX in addition to respectable placings at Nationals and the National Senior Games. Dean has also provided mentoring to young local cyclist even accompanying athletes to Nationals and supported the cycling community as a past KCA board member. At 71, you’ll still find him on a single speed TT bike posting super human times at the John Brown Time Trial. Dean is a very experienced and strong racer yet always takes time to make new people feel welcome.



Bill Marshall (KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team) – Bill ticks off multiple categories with his immense contributions to competitive cycling in our region. Two big items on his resume are his promotion/race directorship of the 2007 and 2008 USAC Cyclo-Cross National Championships. Through his KCCX organization, Bill has developed multiple riders into athletes that have raced at the World Championship level. He has selflessly mentored and assisted other area promoters and athletes with equipment, sponsorship, and advice. As an athlete, Bill has stood on many local podiums and mixed it up with elite racers in multiple disciplines


Please join the KCA Board of Directors in congratulating Dean and Bill. Watch for an official induction ceremony announcement soon.


KCA Fall Board Meeting

Kansas Cycling Association Fall 2023 Board Meeting

The KCA Board invites the cycling community to join our Fall 2023 board meeting on Wednesday September 6, 2023 at 7pm. We will discuss the upcoming cyclocross season, KCA Hall of Fame candidates and begin planning the 2024 season.

Interested in joining the conversation?  Email Doug Campbell for the Zoom link.